Richfield Springs Mercury - Online Newspaper
A weekly newspaper published every Thursday. Distributed and sold through subscriptions and outlets.
Covering: Richfield Springs · West Winfield · Springfield Center · Roseboom · Middlefield · Columbia Center · Millers Mills · Cedarville · Cherry Valley · Fly Creek · Cooperstown · Mohawk · Sharon Springs
Vol. 112 - Issue 1, Wednesday, September 15, 2010
About Us
Photo Gallery
Letters to the Editor
Life is for the Living
Alumni Gathering Weekend
Class Pictures
Police Blotter

Vol.6 No.51 - 7/6/1872
Vol.17 No.2 - 7/15/1882
Courtesy of the New York State Historical Association Library, Cooperstown, N.Y (.PDF files)
Search News
Current Issue

April 2009
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
March 2009
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
February 2009
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28

Archive ->

New York Canal Times - Online newspaper -
New York Canal Times - Online newspaper

Mercury Media Group
Mercury Media Group


Emotions run high at CV-S sports night
by Mike Root

CHERRY VALLEY – Emotions were running high last Friday night at the annual Cherry Valley-Springfield Spring Sports Awards Night at Cherry Valley-Springfield Central School.

From coaches choking up while talking about their teams and the seniors they will miss, to everyone commending Athletic Director Steven Davis for organizing the event the same week he lost his stepson to cancer, the night was filled with handshakes, hugs, tears and laughter.

It was a very successful spring sports season at CV-S with the boys and girls track and field teams and the golf team winning Section IV Class D titles and both track teams and the baseball team winning Tri-Valley League championships.

In addition to celebrating the spring sports season, the annual end of the year awards were given out. Kyla Misiewicz, Tom Shukis, Megan Shirey, Mathias VanDerwerker, Kim Daley and Jeremy Hoag took home the big awards, but only Misiewicz, VanDerwerker and Hoag were on hand to accept their awards, as the others were at track and field state qualifiers.

Misiewicz, a member of the soccer, track and field and junior varsity basketball teams, won the Girls Sportsmanship Award. Shukis, a member of the track and field team, took home the Kenneth D. Young Sportsmanship Award.

The Barry Prill Outstanding Senior Athlete awards went to Shirey and VanDerwerker. Shirey played soccer, basketball and track and field, while VanDerwerker played soccer, basketball and baseball.

Daley won the Hank Misiewicz Memorial Athlete of the Year Award, and Hoag became a two-time winner of the Adam Yerdon Memorial Athlete Award. Daley played soccer, basketball and track and field, while Hoag played soccer, basketball and baseball.

The most emotional coach, by far, on the evening was baseball head coach Ed Dubben. Dubben is notorious for choking up during the baseball awards, but boys and girls track and field co-head coach Jordan Jaquay also had to fight back tears.

In a bit of comic relief, when Jaquay choked back his first tears of the evening, he said, “Uh oh. I’m starting to get like Ed.”

As Jaquay’s speech went on, he had more tears to battle. It was then when Dubben came jogging down the aisle and hugged Jaquay, as the audience cracked up.

Marna Taylor won the Will To Win Award for girls track and field. “She overcame asthma,” Jaquay said. “Asthma so bad that sometimes Steve and I had to pick her up off the track.”

The Coach’s Award went to Laura Kroon, who finished the season with five school records and one league record. Kroon is a T-VL all-star, a 100-point scorer and a three-time T-VL champion in the high jump.

Heather Titus received the Track MVP Award, while leading scorer and T-VL all-star Addy Schneider was named the Field MVP.

For boys track, Jason Guernsey got the Will To Win Award. Guernsey was a 100-point scorer and has three school records.

T-VL all-star Robby Shafsteck was named the Most Improved Player. Two years ago, Shafsteck didn’t score a single point, but this year, he was a 100-point scorer and had six school records and one league record.

The Coach’s Award went to 100-point scorer and T-VL all-star Brian Sutton, who has four school records.

Leading scorer Scott VanDerkrake was named Field MVP. VanDerkrake has five school records.

Shukis was named the Track MVP. Shukis is a 100-point scorer and has five school records and three league records.

Chip Taylor was named the golf team’s MVP. Taylor had a 45.78 average and was named a T-VL all-star.

Jake Hanlon won the Most Improved Player Award for knocking 5.5 strokes off his average. “That’s just an incredible jump,” CV-S golf head coach Blaise Drugats said.

The Will to Win Award went to Don Corns, who was the low golfer at the Section IV Class D match. Corns was also named a T-VL all-star and tied for medalist honors at the T-VL Shootout.

For softball, Brittanie Mabie won the Most Improved Player Award. Mabie’s batting average jumped from .286 to .359, and she finished with 17 RBIs this year, 15 more than the previous season.

The Best Defense Award went to Morgan VanAlstine, who head coach Ken Whiteman called his “human vacuum cleaner.”

Savannah Crowley had an incredible season at the plate and was named the Best Offensive Player. Crowley batted .549 with four home runs, 27 RBIs, seven doubles and two triples.

Michelle Natali took home the Coach’s Award, and Bethanie Mabie won the Will to Win Award.

For baseball, the Coach’s Award went to Shawn Sheldon. “He always put the team in front of himself,” Dubben said.

The Highest Batting Average Award went to Anthony Brant, who led the team in hits and doubles and batted .453.

The Most Improved Player Award went to Ben Haley, who finished 5-0 as a pitcher. “The biggest improvement he made was his leadership,” Dubben said. “His leadership really got him this award.”

Hoag took home the Will to Win Award. “He’s a big game player; the bigger the game, the better he plays,” Dubben said. “He’s gotten better and better, and every year, he never quits.”

The MVP Award went to Steve Herringshaw, who set school records this season with strikeouts in a game (19) and no-hitters (2). Herringshaw only allowed five hits all season. “He’s gonna go a long way if he has a good work ethic,” Dubben said. “He was dominating on the mound, at the plate and in the field.”

Finally, VanDerwerker received the Adam Yerdon Award. Dubben, who tried to choke back tears the entire time he gave out the awards, particularly had trouble with this one. “This award goes to someone who gives everything,” Dubben said. “He has heart, commitment, leadership, and he’s definitely one of the best players to ever put on a Patriots uniform. Adam would be proud to have him get this award.”


Visitor Number:
Privacy Policy
Copyright© 2005-2010. Richfield Springs Mercury